Quick summary of my last three blogposts

For Punkt, Punkt, Punkt there were two posts.

One was about Insects and I chose to make it about the Eden Project – as I visited that place in 2003. There is a huge artificial bee in the link I give, so that gave me the excuse to bring up Eden. Eden is a place well worth visiting for grown ups. I think as a child I would have been underwhelmed.

My second Punkt, Punkt, Punkt contribution from yesterday was about my favourite meal. Well, I am not really picky when it comes to eating, but as I am cooking only for myself I prefer meals that are not too elaborate, as the time eating would be disproportionally small compared to the time preparing otherwise.

So I chose one of my easy favourites, chicken breast fillets with a cream sauce with mushrooms and onions – very simple, cream and an onion I have in my supply, meat and mushrooms come fresh, mushrooms I wash and cut with an egg slicer, onions I peel and slice with a mandoline in even, thin slices. Then I heat oil in a pan, fry the salted and peppered meat, put it in an oven dish after it is done, fry the onions, add the mushrooms, add pepper and salt, close lid, let simmer a while and add to the dish. I dust some nutmeg over that and add a package of cream. In the oven, 175 ° C / 375 ° F – and about 20 minutes l eat it with rice.

Simple, quick, tasty … no glutamate.

And the post in between those Sunday posts was about our local council election, at which I was an election assistant. For a local vote we had a good participation, 3 out of 5 people voted. We had the odd voter complaining about having to queue (hey, we did not choose the time he came) or about inaccessability (there was a phone number on the polling card which got send out weeks before – where wheelchair and zimmerframe users could have phoned to be admitted to a better suited location, some did not). But most were really grateful we did that job – which lasted well into the evening hours. Voting closes at 6 pm, but then the counting begins. Voting for local councils in Lower Saxony is rather complicated. Here you vote for the town, for the district of the town and for the region Hannover. On each of those papers you had three votes to distribute. The easy versions were those voters who voted for the whole list of a party with all their votes. Splitting that up between several parties or several candidates or even several candidates of more than one party were allowed, though – and some voters did it. To count those papers takes some time. So we finally went home at half past ten. PM.

Did we get paid? Yes, in my case, as I had a deputy secretary role, 30 Euro. For 10 hours. Half an hour before opening  (we open at 8 am for voters) to arrange the classroom (we vote in schools here) and organize. And as I got into the afternoon shift, it was from 1 pm to 10:30 pm in a row. On a Sunday. 10 hours, half of which were night hours. 30 Euro. For refreshments officially … (Why secretaries need more refreshment than other election assistants, do not ask me.)

 

16 Antworten zu “Quick summary of my last three blogposts

  1. Your meal sounds delicious! Also I had to giggle when you mentioned some people complaining about queuing.. In England we just love queuing🙂

    • Germans are an impatient lot – hence the infamous German tourists …

      • This weekend my German friends have had their parents staying and I have been acting as a tour guide. They are indeed somewhat impatient but also wonderfully polite and endlessly interesting. They were also very patient with my dreadful attempts at speaking German and made ironic jokes about Germans not knowing any jokes🙂

      • We love to make jokes – but nobody seems to laugh about them😉
        No, seriously, Germans are dreadful when it comes to Slapstick, but some have a very dry humour, somewhat cynical often, but the self-depracating that is something we still have to learn. A good start is to claim, we do not understand jokes – because of our genetical code.

      • I very much appreciate the dry sense of humour – rest assured we were all laughing our heads off day and night!

  2. Voting seems to be a way of life in Switzerland, especially with our direct democracy and eternal referendums. Today no-one really visits the local voting centers, unless they want to be social and meet the local population. We generally do it all by post. Mr. Swiss fills out the form, I sign, and puts it in the box at the town hall, which is a village office just around the corner. I do keep an eye on what he says, but generally why bother. If the village want to have a new road sign, they can have it. There are certain issues I care about, but then I intervene and put down my own opionion. I quite enjoy participating in Punkt usw. but need a lot of time to form my German sentences and conjugations.

    • But you know that any language gets easier with the times you use it?
      Besides, your very special way of German had a very unique charme to it. My English is far from being perfect, as well. Still, if I would not use it, most of my English speaking blogger friends would not understand me.

      • I have always admired how well you manage with the english language and very rarely, if at all, there are mistakes. your english grammar is better than mine. it seems you must have lived in an english speaking country for some time to have such a good command of the language. I am a lazy linguistic person, and I know my english has suffered over the years being away from England. German would be fine if they did not have so many various endings on the words and so many ways to say „the“ or „a“ not to mention the adjectives.

      • I have not lived in England longer than two weeks – when visiting a language school in Brighton.
        I have spent a few holidays in England and Ireland. I love to read the Guardian, comment in the comment section, I am not afraid to communicate (in written form) on the internet with people from English-speaking countries. And you know why?
        I was pretty bad back at school, had the lowest pass mark at the beginning two years. Then I improved a lot, teacher changed, and I had started Latin, too, both had a big impact.
        I took the German version of A-levels in English, it was my worst mark in my A-levels. I was really disappointed, I do not think I was that bad.
        I continued with English, took some with my studies in English, later went to evening classes, getting a Cambridge Certificate (First and Advanced, both with an A, an A in the Advanced is comparable to C 2 in the European Framework of Reference for Languages, could not get any better, or I would have taken a Cambridge Certificate of Profiency in English)
        So you see, I never left Language learning. I read some books in English, the last one was Letter from America this year, two further ones: Bill Bryson, The Road to Little Dribbling (the Follow up to Notes from a Small Island) and One Summer.
        But the boost in my confidence came from the Australian boyfriend of one of my oldest friends. He said to me, he liked how fluently I switched between German and English. I had never paid attention to that before, but yes, I do, not perfect. Sometimes only an English word springs to mind, at other times for the life of my cats I cannot remember the appropriate expression in English. But all in all, yes, I’d describe myself as fluent in written English. Not so in spoken. Have a HORRIBLE GERRRRMAN EGGSCENT … You know, one of ze kind you see mocked so often, zose pesky Germans, do not know the difference betveen a V and a W …😉
        Though I think I more often make the mistake of Ze TH …

  3. my mother will make the chicken breasts this week… she was „in“ immediately as we talked about this fab meal :o)

If I promise to read it, can I convince you to comment? Wenn ich verspreche, dass ich es lese, kann ich dich überzeugen, zu kommentieren?

