Shopping around the world

To join Bacon and Easy on their Shopping around the world:

For me it is rather cooking around the world, as most things I have at home, but the fresh produce, of course.

Buy an Orange Hokkaido squash,a small packet of H-cream (I like to have some in my cupboard so I buy it homogenized), take from your storage an onion or two (depends on size), and a litre, two pints or a quarter of a gallon of broth (I use broth that has been dried and is sold as powder, like stock cubes, just powderized)

Kürbissuppe 3

– you need about 28 gramm (four teaspoon) for a liter – and 140 gramm cost €0,59 – so that is about 12 Eurocent.  One hokkaido costs about 1,50 per kilogramm – which is about the amount you need here. And the cream is about 0,49 per 200 ml package. You use any amount you like. My recipe says 3 packages, I say one is enough. An onion is not expensive, either, a kilo is about  0,49 – and you need about 100 gr … You need some neutral oil, too, about two tablespoons should be enough – a bottle of rape seed oil (1 litre) is 0,99 – you need the equivalent of about 4 cent here.

So you open the Hokkaido,

Kürbissuppe 1

Hokkaido

get the seeds out, cut the Hokkaido into cubes. Peel the onion(s), cut them into cubes, too.

Heat oil into a big saucepan, 2 to 3 litres should fit into that. Fry onions till they turn glassy (about 15 minutes), add hokkaido and broth. Cook for 20 minutes. Let cool a little, mash it up into a mixer (one portion at a time), get it back into the pan, add salt (if you think it is still necessary, if you take broth from that powder don’t), add pepper and if you are like me, add curry. Stir well, add cream, heat but don’t let it boil anymore.

Serve with a few sliced leaves of Basil (just if you happen to have some).

Kürbissuppe 18

That is 2,20 Euro for 4 portions. Not counted pepper and curry (you need so little that I doubt that would make much of a difference) or electricity (for the mixer/cooking) or gas (for the cooking).

The more spicy you choose your curry, the more warming the soup. If you want to take some dried pumpkin seeds (peeled, but you knew that) and roast them dry in a pan, till you just can smell some aroma – don’t wait till they take colour. That adds some extra crunch. Or just fry a few bacon cubes … But then you leave the vegetarian territory.

I changed the name of the pumpkin, as in Germany it is known as Hokkaido Kürbis – in America it is known as Red Kuri squash or Orange Hokkaido squash and in the UK the name is Onion squash.

 

 

 

21 Antworten zu “Shopping around the world

  1. Granny loves Pumpkin soup, so we are definetely going to try it…it looks delicious🙂 Pawkisses🙂❤

  2. I love pumpkinsoup…. thanks for a super tasty recipe…. your onions are 0.49? wow… ours are 1.99 and they look as if their best time was over many moons ago :o)

  3. Yummy! We’ve never had pumpkin soup and it sounds delicious and easy!

    The Florida Furkids

  4. Oh wow! This looks amazingly good. So inviting – I’m copying this down for mom to try. Awesome recipe and pictures my sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

    • If your human female would love to save on calories (I know she is trying to control her weight), she could replace cream for a low-fat creamlike thing. If she chooses coconut cream – would be vegan, but not save calories. As fat, and not even a good fat!

      • Thanks! I will definitely share this with her. Every little bit in cutting back helps a lot. XOXO – Bacon

      • She could also leave out the cream totally – the soup is smooth in texture through the mixing, so cream is not necessary. But a little bit of fat is good for the taste. You should never cut taste to cut back on calories.

      • This is so very true! I’m so on it then and writing the ingredients down for mom. Thanks my friend. XOXO – Bacon

      • Do not write the bacon cubes …

      • I didn’t🙂 No need for daddy to look at me with that ‚look‘ he gets sometimes – PLOL. XOXO – Bacon

      • You are a smart oinker.

      • The good thing about a hokkaido pumpkin is that it comes along in the right size and you do not need to peel it. But you can use any edible pumpkins (I have heard some varieties are just for decorational purposes, but not hokkaido – they usually write it down when you cannot eat the cultivar) – you live and learn, never heard that word before …

      • I had never heard of it. I do hope that we can find it here at our local market. It should be awesome indeed. XOXO – Bacon

      • No wonder you have not heard of it:
        Red kuri squash is commonly called Japanese Squash, Orange Hokkaido Squash, Baby Red Hubbard Squash, or the Uchiki Kuri Squash.
        You know it under a different name over there.

      • That’s it! Okay – so now I know we are buying. I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for clarifying that for me🙂 XOXO – Bacon

      • I changed the name in the article, thank you for bringing that to my attention. Who’d have thought that the names are sooo different in different countries?!

If I promise to read it, can I convince you to comment? Wenn ich verspreche, dass ich es lese, kann ich dich überzeugen, zu kommentieren?

